BCC Open in 2021

UPDATE: Restrictions on arrivals to Thailand are easing and we are making preparations to hold the tournament during Autumn/Fall in 2022

Dear chess friends,

Hope that you all are safe and sound, wherever you are. In Thailand the Covid-19 situation is very well in control, as we have had only one local transmission case during the last three months! But due to strict Government policies, we do not expect that quarantine-free travel to Thailand will be possible this year. 

So with our Anniversary 20th Bangkok Chess Club Open, we are now focusing for April 2021, with tentative dates 10-18 April. We will give full details and make a new announcement as soon as quarantine free travel is again possible when arriving to Thailand.

The final decision to hold the tournament on those days will be made on 15th January at the latest.

Take care and hope to see you soon in Thailand!

Kai Tuorila and Peter Darby, BCC

Until further notice…

UDATE: We are restarting the club from Friday November 5th, starting at the earlier time of 6:30pm

Looking forward to seeing everyone again.

COVID restrictions prevent the club from operating for the time being. We will post updates here when things change.

We look for to seeing you all then.

Entry Fees

For those who have already paid entry fees for the 20th BCC Open, you have a choice to transfer the fee to the rescheduled tournament or to the 21st BCC Open, or to claim a full refund.

If you would like to transfer to a later tournament, no need to do anything now, we will keep a record of it, and you can mention you have already paid when registering.

For a refund, please email the payment transfer receipt from the entry fee payment, and payment will be returned to your credit card. It will be a full refund, but there may be some small difference in the final amount, depending on exchange rates.

20th BCC Open Postponed

Dear Chess Friends,

Due to the evolving dynamics of the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and after much discussion, the 20th Bangkok Chess Club Open will be postponed. The safety and well-being of our club members, chess players and colleagues is of paramount importance. Many players will be travelling internationally, so we are also concerned that there may be disruption in flights and issues with quarantine. 

With this in mind, our plan is to reschedule the tournament for six month’s time, in October 2020, by which time we trust the pandemic will have ended.

For those players that have already paid, you have the option to transfer the registration fee to the rescheduled tournament or receive a full refund.

We will be contact every registered player by email, continue to provide updates as information becomes available, and ask for your understanding at this difficult time. 

And we are looking forward to seeing you in Thailand soon.

Kai Tuorila,
Bangkok Chess Club