Redshirts’ rally

Demonstrators bring their whole families

Some people are asking about the demonstrations in Bangkok and if they will affect the tournament. The answer is no, other than perhaps some traffic problems. The demonstrators are avowedly peaceful and democratic, and the targets of the demonstrations are government buildings and army compounds.

They are not visiting the airports or having anything to do with visitors to Thailand.

Tamasart Cup

BCC woodpushers dominated the Tamasart Chess Cup 2009 held at Tamasart University Campus Rangsit.

Top seeded Henry “The Destroyer” Calacday flashed his old deadly form, led a 1-2-3 finish via tie break of 5.5 points against fellow BCC members Paul “The Bullet” Elauria and Manolo “ The Silent Assassin” Salamida. The 38 year old Henry Elo 2046 led the rest of the field on the first day with a perfect score of four after four rounds stumbled to Urs Hasler of Switzerland on the first game of the second day but was able to bounce back quickly after a convincing win against his compatriot Manolo then drew his last round with Paul, enough to claim the championship trophy with the highest tie break. Also an impressive display of performance was Paul who had a shocking defeat against fellow Filipino Dean Binoya on the first round then won his next five assignments and drew the last to claim the second place. Manolo kept hanging around with his position since the first few rounds and gave his final blow by trouncing Sawapop on the last round and went home as the third best player of the tournament.

TCA Prajuab Cup

Atippat was the clear winner of TCA Prajuab Cup, 6-rounds Swiss, Fide-rated tournament, which was organized in the beautiful Bangkok Boulevard Club House. Atippat lost surprisingly in the first round, but won all the rest 5 games. He was followed by FM Boonsueb with 4.5 and Teerapong with 4 points. The 4th place was shared by Aung, Henry and Piyapon.  Full results at Thank you K.Ekasith for hosting this tournament!

1. Atippat Pornariyasombat 5
2. Boonsueb Saeheng 4.5
3. Teerapong Tovirat 4
4. Henry Calacday 3.5
5. Piyapon Wiwarin 3.5
6. Aung Kyaw Moe 3.5
7. Thotsaporn Thanatipanonda 3
8. Manolo Salamida 3
9. Pramote Somprasong 3
10. Poompong Wiwatanadate 3
11. Sawapop Tuamsang 3
12. Sant Pongkiettisak 3
13. Pricha Srivatanakul 2.5
14. Kannapon Srivachirawat 2.5
15. Sahapol Nakvanich 2
16. Sadtra Srisawad 2
17. Meechai Kaewfainok 2
18. Eric Calacday 2
19. Louis Kirk 1.5
20. Ekasith Buasroung 1.5
21. Permsak Punsuk 1
22. Yoothajak Wanichayachart 1
23. Wisuwat Therdkiattikulrt 0