BCC Open 2017 Champion

A resurgent Nigel Short has made the Bangkok Chess Club Open Tournament his own, after winning for the third time. Despite an early setback with an unexpected  draw in the second round, strong play in subsequent rounds saw him seize and never relinquish the lead in the seventh, to become the clear winner of the 17th BCC Open 2017.

Entertainment at the Regent Cha-am

There will be two special promotions during the Songkran Water Festival at the Regent Cha-am, and it will be a great opportunity to get to know the other chess players and their families.

On Thursday 13th, there is a Thai Food Four Regions Buffet Dinner at Peppina Lawn – a garden party. The price is a very reasonable 699 Baht per person nett (i.e. tax and service included).

On Friday 14th, there is a BBQ and International Buffet Dinner on the beach, at 999 Baht nett.

Join the fun! Booking is required after you arrive – more details available at the venue.

A Truly International Chess Tournament

Chess enthusiasts from more than 50 countries have registered to play at the 17th Bangkok Chess Club Open, with the current total standing at 352 talented chess players.

There is still time to add your name to the growing list by registering here.

There is also a fantastic opportunity for some top-level training with Grandmaster Jacob Aagaard, as part of his Thinking-inside-the-Box Asian Tour. Details here.

Fully booked

If you are planning to stay at the Regent Cha-am during the 17th Bangkok Chess Club Open, please make sure to download the Regent Booking Form and send through to the hotel. The hotel is fully booked, but there are still rooms available under the block booking for our tournament.